Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Two Birds

This, as a photograph, is basically ho hum. But! The point was it pleased and amused me because:

There we were, out on our regular walk, and I have taken a few photographs of this and that - some of a Great Blue Heron at such a great distance flying across the sky that it was a mere speck - and we're walking along, when I see a bunch of birds flitting about in some small trees at the edge of the road. "Bluebirds" I think to myself. So I raise my camera, and just as I snap off three quick shots they all move and I basically have no idea if I even caught a single bird. But the one I was aiming at I thought was probably a female Eastern Bluebird because she wasn't... blue. And then I get home and eventually I upload the photos - which ended up being the only photos I took on what turned into a rainy Saturday - and discover that the birds were in fact mostly Bluebirds. But! The one I had thought was a female EABL was in fact not. She was a Yellow-rumped Warbler! You can't see the yellow in this shot, but I have two other shots where you can. But in the other two, I didn't get the male Bluebird totally in the frame. So this is the one I have to use to show both birds. I have even labeled them! [In the uncropped photo the YRWA was in the center of the frame.]

And that is why I love taking my big camera on our walks and shooting birds I can't readily identify by my eye alone - because sometimes I get home and find I've seen something I don't often see! Or maybe have never seen before! I've only ever seen three YRWAs here at or near home. A pair two years ago, and now this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.