jennybugs

By jennybugs

Grief and seeking solace

This small, insignificant, but beautifully coloured ball of yarn to many is just that - a ball of yarn.
To me, this lovingly dyed, carefully wound mass of fibres has been like diving in to a giant cotton wool ball. It has enveloped me, hugged me, cosseted me and comforted far more than any other item ever has.
This last week saw my beloved father taken from the loving heart of the family suddenly and somewhat unexpectedly.
Words cannot express my grief, sense of loss, loneliness and sorrow. No words have truly comforted me. I am bereft of feeling.
This little ball of yarn has done so much to help me 'zone out', 'neutralise' and find a temporary inner quiet, and I will miss it when it has gone. I will have a scarf of this yarn to wrap around me and hopefully be my soother through the upcoming sorrow, but I needed to pay tribute to this little ball of yarn and say, quite simply, thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.