Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Cloisters

I didn't mention yesterday, but I feel a need to, as it really got to me last night. Mrs tsuken and I were walking down to Darling Harbour for her birthday dinner, and I saw a bloke begging on the footpath on the other side of the road. I had noticed him when I walked back to the hotel some two or three hours earlier, and he was in the same place, and the same position, on his knees, holding a cardboard sign. 

Unmoving. 

In the afternoon I had no money on me. In the evening I turned to mrs tsuken and asked what she had in her wallet. She opened it, and I grabbed. We then waited for the cross signal, and headed over to him. 

The sign simply said "Homeless and broke. Please help." I put the coins in the hat or cloth he had in front of him, and met his eyes. He said "thanks", and then clearly registered that there were a number of gold coins. The look in his eyes and his redoubled thanks were heart-rending.

Nothing to us, and everything to him. I hope he found somewhere for the night.

Anyway... this morning I checked out the quadrangle at University of Sydney. Really lovely, and I just had to shoot the cloisters. Hearing Chariots of Fire now. ;)

Flickr.

The extras were also in the quad.

SMC Pentax-DA 35 mm f2.4 AL; K-30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.