Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Remembrance Day

No Remembrance Day in the Netherlands for WW I as this country kept neutral then, but surely we learned about this Great War in our history lessons, and the younger generations do too.
The 1st time ever I attended a War Commemoration was November 8th 1974 in London and then aged soldiers from that war marched with pride and pain along The Mall with medals on their chests; none of them will live now.

Took this picture August last when my youngest and I visited Yper and around to witness where the Great War endlessly continued in the suffocating trenches ~ we were happily surprised to see the many many visitors from Belgium, France and England + Holland, who wanted to remember the fallen and see where they'd battled.
As I have no other apt blip for this commemoration day, I'll add this info plaquette what's shown at  Tyne Cot , the largest cemetry for the Common Wealth army men and the largest cemetry in West Flanders

Lest we not forget!
Their name liveth for evermore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.