ENTASIS

By ENTASIS

Summertime Soundtrack

I went a bit mad in HMV today...summer sale. Although I already have the main singles from all of these albums (top to bottom- The Real Johnny Cash, Lana Del Rey Born To Die, Ben Howard Every Kingdom and The Sound of The Smiths) I felt I needed to fill in the gaps in my collection.

With the exception of Ben Howard, it's not exactly an upbeat, summer appropriate collection of music, but unfortunately we don't seem to be experiencing what one would define as 'summer' this far North. The melancholic vocals of Morrisey and deep tones of Lana Del Rey certainly seem to be more suited to the current summer weather. Listen with caution though! There is a limit to number of times one can listen to lyrics such as
"And if a ten ton truck, Kills the both of us, To die by your side, Well the pleasure, the privilege is mine"
or
"Your soul is haunting me and telling me, That everything is fine, But I wish I was dead"

whilst staring out a window at grey drizzle without beginning to feel slightly suicidal. Small doses only!

However, no matter the weather or time of year, I could listen to "steady like a train, sharp like a razor" Johnny Cash all day long.

Oh, and Alfred Hitchcock's 'Vertigo' a steal at just £3! Who could resist?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.