Lali's World

By Lali

Portrait of a Scots ex-serviceman

Today was Remembrance Sunday, a day to remember and honour those who have sacrificed themselves to secure and protect our freedom. As I was walking up the Royal Mile on my way to work, there were preparations being made for the celebration. I took a photo of some young soldiers who happily posed for me (see extras) and this ex-serviceman agreed to pose for a portrait as well.

To be honest with you, I'm against wars and violence of any sort. Unfortunately, wars are sometimes a necessary evil. If anything, I do feel sorry for those who have lost their lives in battle and for their families. these are brave men that reserve respect.

As for wars, sometimes they help to improve things, sometimes they help to make them worse, but I won't get into this...

The weather was fine this morning but then it turned horrible, with strong winds and rain. Glad it had stopped raining by the time I left work. Today I was in the office, so it was peace and quiet for me! :)

Thanks very much for all your lovely comments and stars. I hope you all had a good weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.