Merchandise

Up to Tynie for the visit of Hamilton Academical; I was a bit early for once so was entertained by the pipe band, it being remembrance weekend. Beforehand I'd paused awhile and watched the activity around the merchandise sellers. Boys of all ages. That came back to me when I was listening to Low (the Band) following their appearance on the final episode of Jools the night before. I was aware of them but had never given them much time, for reasons unknown. Having streamed a bit of their stuff via Deezer to my lovely Sonos speakers, and being quite wowed, I thought that I really ought to get a couple of their CDs. And then I realised you don’t do that. You just stream it. No physical artefact. No merchandise. It just seems somehow unsatisfactory. I’m an old dog at heart. Or goat, as I’m sometimes called.
Later it was down to the boatie club - the event was originally billed as the Commodore’s Party to celebrate our purchase of the 174 year lease, but it was changed into the ‘Corinthian Creative Cafe’ where we brainstormed the future of all aspects of the club. It was a great success and most enjoyable. I reported that fact to the absent (and unsupportive) Harbour Sec the following morning. Who was there, he grumpily asked. I tossed him a few names. ‘Huummmpph', he said, 'no surprise there. All the ones with no callouses on their hands’. Most unfair. It’s hard work driving a mouse round a desk all day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.