Remembering

Both my Parents. I have been meaning to post a picture of my parents for ages but couldn't find any. My daughter has quite a lot and she sent this to me to post as it seemed an appropriate day today. My dad was in the Royal Engineers and got posted to Burma during the war. He never ever spoke to us or mum about his time there because he was so traumatised by it. He used to build and destroy bridges so his team were first in and last out!! He was such a gentle person I can imagine it was very difficult. My mum had a hairdressing business in Washington in the war and used to cut the troops hair. She used to do one night a week on air raid duty. She met my dad at a local dance during the war and they got married very quickly afterwards to make the most of the time. Mum used to travel to visit wherever he was stationed. It was hard for them when they sent dad to Burma for three years. She worked and saved their wages for when it was all over. He got late back from the war as it finished later from the east and he had a very bad sea voyage back in the bottom of a boat. When he was back they moved to Scotland to start married life properly and have a family. I think they lived in Prestwick. When the baby was due (me) mum was homesick so she and dad moved back to live with her sister in Washington next to the hairdressing shop, which had been sold, and I was born in Newcastle. Less than a year later my brother was born in Newcastle too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.