We will remember them

I was in the remembrance parade here in Queensferry this morning. I couldn't take photos there so got a blip of the field of remembrance when I headed into town.

I've been a wee bit frustrated by some of the coverage this year. The arguments over wearing a poppy and which colour to wear. I don't think the pressure about not wearing one is helpful, there are a great number of people who choose to mark or remember in their own way, Harry Leslie Smith being a perfect example, At the same time I feel that people complaining about poppy facism and suggesting the poppy is used to glorify war is helpful in any way either.

My personal view is that the important thing is never to forget, and some of the arguments on both sides, I feel detract from that. I can see that some people feel the media and politicians have been guilty of trying to co-opt the poppy to promote militarism and I am uncomfortable with remembrance events being sponsored by the likes of BAE and Lockheed Martin but that has nothing to do with why the vast majority of people wear poppies whether white, red or whatever. I buy both white and red poppies, white because I'd like to see an end to wars and no one having to be sent of to be wounded or die and red because rather than being anything to do with glorifying wars it is about remembering and showing respect for all soldiers, dead, wounded or left otherwise damaged in all conflicts.

Personally I don't care whether anyone wears a poppy or doesn't or whether it's white or red, as long as they remember the sacrifices people have made and the real horror that war is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.