Friday Foto

By drmackem

Eyes closed or finger in the ear?

MrsDrMackem took me out to see the Unthanks tonight at Grassington Festival. I've not come across these guys before, but I like live music, and this was a striking fusion of folk music, grand piano and the Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band.

It seemed a real challenge for them to keep their tight harmonies so near the band, so Rachael closed her eyes a lot and Becky put her finger in her ear a lot.

They are from the North East, and with a Brass Band it's no suprise that the songs were about blokes down the coal mines, a girl down the coal mine, Drunk women, The Trimdon Explosion and two about cows and one about a pigeon. Took me back years and reminded me of where my sense of social just came from.

The combination of music genres was sometimes good, occasionally better than good. One number The King of Rome sent me all in goosebumps and a little bit teary. It must have been the cornet riff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.