pointandhope

By PointandHope

Sloes past their best

A couple of months ago, I checked out the Blackthorn bushes that I know about, to see what the likelihood of enough to make home-made Sloe Gin this year, would be.

Some of the usual bushes had little or no sign of any sloes but a couple of others had what looked like a very promising crop.

Just been today and they had all gone way past their best.

I know some say that you should wait until after the first frost before you pick them.  So because we have had no signs of frost at all this year, I didn't make it a priority to go back before now.

As you can see, I'm way too late.

So I headed off in search of alternative bushes.

Thankfully, I managed to find 2 or 3 with a reasonable crop of healthy Sloes.
So all is not lost, but the final product may not be ready for sampling before Feb 2016.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.