Street Art, Washington DC

Today I was in Washington DC again and it was another beautiful sunny day, although not as warm as a few days ago. I visited a Church I like to attend when I'm in DC on a Sunday - located near Navy Yard and Barracks Row. After Church I walked around the neighborhood for an hour before stopping for lunch. This is a historic preservation area and I enjoyed looking at the beautiful architecture. Some were grand old buildings - large family homes, hospitals and military buildings. Some were more humble 'row houses' recently 'gentrified'.

But what really caught my eye were various pieces of 'Street Art'. Some were on the sides of buildings and others were displayed as if in a gallery, underneath a bridge which was Interstate-695 above.  Some of these pieces depicted historical views of the neighborhood.

I also walked through nearby Eastern Market, always buzzing on a weekend. Eastern Market is part Farmers Market, part art and antiques, and is a great place to start looking for some Christmas presents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.