Ah yes, I remember it well.

I have, in the past, Blipped "The 2 Towers". To whit - this one and the Castle in the same shot. The Fire Station (As such) is no longer there.
I looked up a little history - the wonders of technology.

"Carlisle Castle is situated in Carlisle, in the English county of  Cumbria near the ruins of  Hadrian's Wall. The  Castle is over 900 years old and has been the scene of many historical episodes in British History"

On the other hand ...
".......The Fire Station moved to Warwick Street (Current location of the one I knew.) in 1940. ....."

"26/6/2012 - Open day at new Carlisle fire station
One of Carlisle’s two brand new fire stations will be opening its doors to the public when it hosts a community open day."


I have VERY serious doubt that the old Drill Tower will still be there in 900 years time.
I couldn't count the number of times I/we have been up and down both inside and outside it, so I thought a record in case was a valid move, and took precedent over the castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.