This'll likely get me drummed out of the Brownies

"Music, How do you listen" is today's challenge.

Well, this says it all for me.

I tend to listen using noise-cancelling headphones - helps counteract the tinnitus - through my computer sound system.

The sheet music shown in the picture also tells you that I listen with my ears...aurally -- geddit?

The sheet of music used for the blip was suitably distressed when I inadvertently ran my chair over it, and the words are the original version to the tune that Elvis Presley made famous as "Love me Tender. (This was probably mainly due to the Colonel's abhorrence of paying royalties)

The song Aura Lee was originally written by W Fosdick (words) and George R Fulton (music) in about 1858 and was later included in the Yale Song Book.

The lyrics are a play on words - especially if you think of then sung in an American accent, the first verse being:

As the blackbird in the spring
'Neath the willow tree
Sat and piped, I heard him sing.
Singing Aura Lee.

It works in two ways - the bird sings orally, but is heard aurally.

You can see that it would appeal to the men of Yale, can't you? (Don't think they had lady undergrads in those days...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.