hjoiner

By hjoiner

THE DOUBTFUL SOUND!

Staying the night on this ship has probably been one of my favorite experiences so far this trip. While the cabins were itty bitty the scenery was fantastic. We saw seals, penguins, dolphins, and even an albatross! While aboard we learned a lot more about the environment back in captain cooks time. The guide said birds were in a abundance, the song almost deafening early explorers of fiord. She also told us about the extinct Moa birds who were over hunted by the Maori people unknowingly. This place was truly untouched by civilization, and I find in America that I have been few places where I can't hear a single car or truck rumbling. We had a moment of complete silence on the boat, where all you could hear was the birds singing and water gurgling. It was truly a magical experience that I wish every country has more of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.