The Vagaries of Protest

A well planned and executed protest quickly degenerated into "violence" with prisoners taken.  Sadly all of them were ours - we didn't get any of theirs.

We thought we went in well prepared:  Protest signs, water guns, water bombs, fireworks, flour bombs, eggs and even a hose and a great chant going on  But clearly it wasn't enough.  

The training that their troops are receiving is clearly paying off.  Which I guess is the whole point of the Defence Forces exercise that has taken over our town.

I did take some photos I like tonight but instead of using them I decided I should blip the actual action (a bad time of day to be trying to photograph anything that moved even slightly - iso 3200 and totally noisy).  At the top is the local troops preparing for the 'peaceful' protest.  At the bottom is the outcome - with our men, women and children imprisoned on the wrong side of the barricades.  

A resounding defeat to us . . .  but there's always tomorrow.

And I guess it is appropriate that this happened on Armistice Day 11/11

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.