Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Simply delightful

Airline food can be variable, a great deal of course depends on which class you fly and which airline; the next criteria is where has the food been sourced. During the mid - 80s I rotated out of Kai Tak, Hong Kong's old airport on a 3 monthly basis back to Aberdeen. The food out of Kai Tak was usually OK as we tended to use Lufthansa, I would decline any food after a stopover in the middle east or the sub-continent, wishing to enjoy my first few days of leave rather than have them wrecked by a hideous illness.
On one flight we hurtled out of HK on our way westward, homeward bound after a very fatiguing 3 months training Chinese pilots how to operate to oil platforms. I was mentally and physically tired, put up a Do Not Disturb sign on my seat and prepared to pop a couple of "Night Night" pills. I was rudely disturbed by a stalwart of Luftwaffe's female body building club who demanded I consume a meal, after all I had paid for it and she was going to serve it whether I wanted it or not. Through my troubled senses I was aware that my neighbours had also declined their meals, so I stubbornly sulked and uttered words such as "Go away, Leave me alone!"
By now I was slightly awake and aware that the two young Chinese seated beside me were sorting through a cool bag. The lady in the aisle seat was being treated like a Princess by her husband He took out pre-prepared sushi, it looked wonderful, the presentation was fantastic. He then produced a similar tray for himself with wines. They tucked into their food and were very content. The gentleman then cleared away the small trays, took two oranges from the bag and a razor sharp knife from his pocket. (These were the days before the stone-age revisionists took control of our airline industry) I watched in awe as he topped and tailed the orange, slid the knife between the pith and segments then pushed out the tennis ball sized fruit. He placed the base inside the outer skin and then sliced each segment out of it's surrounding skin, placing it in the basket. He then repeated the routine, wiped his hands and they savoured the fruit. I was by this time drooling.
When they had finished I complimented the chap on his skills and manners. It transpired that although they were Chinese they loved Japanese food so bought and established a Sushi restaurant in Kowloon. They were on their way to London to see what opportunities lay ahead.
On returning home the second thing I did was try to emulate the skills of this sushi lover. Not a chance. I had to learn how to hone knives properly, no way would normal knives touch fruit so delicately. Now it's a doddle and refreshes weary guests when the oranges are removed from the fridge once they have arrived, freshened up and expect the usual British cup of tea. Be different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.