Remembrance Day

My grandfather, John Taylor Hendry, died at the end of the First World War. He left behind a wife and a young daughter, my mother.
These are three objects associated with him.
The Memorial Plaque was issued after the First World War to the next-of-kin of all British and Empire Service personnel who were killed as a result of the war. It was made of bronze and is sometimes called the " Death Penny" or "Dead Man's Penny".
The cigarette case is made of silver. There is a dent in it and I remember being told, when I was young, that it was caused by a bullet. I suspect this may not have been true.
My grandfather was a captain and this is his cane. I have used it to tap the floor to discourage our dogs from barking. It rarely works!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.