Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Never Forget

I did publish a remembrance blip on Sunday, but figured it would be appropriate to put up this one as well today. 

This tiny remembrance garden pops up during November, just down the road from me, on a busy road junction, and it always catches my eye. It's an unusual spot for a memorial, but it only makes it more poignant to me.

On Sunday I put a poem up for the journal, one of my favourites by Wilfred Owen, not a pleasant read, but an important one. It always reminds me at this time of year to make the important distinction of remembering the sacrifices made by so many, and not celebrating the war itself. Seems like it shouldn't need saying, but I see commentators every year, who seem to be unsure of the difference.

My respect and thoughts go to those that fell, those that served, and those that still serve. 

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.