don376

By don376

Where did you spend your Remembrance Day?

I was on my way into Manchester today and missed a connection so I ended up getting off at Cornbrook Metro station at one minute to eleven. People all over our country joined together at 11.00am today for the 2 minute silence and the scene at Cornbrook was very respectful with everyone in silent contemplation - everyone that is except for one young woman who was lolling on the handle of her baby carriage, headphones in & wittering a load of drivel into her phone.  Granted she wasn't talking loudly but because she was the only one talking we could all hear her witterings. She had her head down so I will never know if she realised what she was doing or was just oblivious to the rest of us - probably the latter.  When the two minute gun sounded I went over to congratulate her for being such a modern minded young lady who obviously couldn't care less about the service men and women who had given their lives in any of the conflicts since the First World War.  A man about my age, in earshot, said "well done" and we all carried on with our journey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.