kwchas

By kwchas

Higher Ferry

It seems that bridges are fast becoming my default blip. 

I was wondering where to take a picture today and gravitated down to Higher Ferry in-between voluntary driving jobs. I thought that there might be some birds around but there was nothing interesting so I ended up focusing on the bridge. When I got back I realised that this is the fourth time this week I have used a bridge and my sixth in just over two weeks.

I don't think this is a particularly attractive bridge. It was built across the River Dee in 1968 but is very useful for cyclists because it links Saltney and British Aerospace with the Chester side of the river.

There used to be a ferry service here which ran from 1790 until the opening of the bridge. It ran from 5am until 9pm every day as it had to cover all the shifts at the aircraft factory and the railway sheds and other industry at Saltney.  

To the left of my picture you can see a path leading down to the river which is partially concreted and I assume is the old path to the ferry. There is a terrific picture here showing the same location before the bridge was built:   Before the bridge and another one of the actual ferry Higher Ferry

Normally I like to keep the same aspect when I crop a picture but I thought this looked better using much narrower dimensions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.