SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Lily Tarn

After taking the decision to part company from  the 'care' company I decided I wanted some air before Abigail stormed in. I didn't have the energy to walk far but was in the mood for the south lakes which can feel gentler somehow, familiar. I was last here during my blue phase. But I also also wanted to check out my handiwork that I was involved with from about 25 years ago (see extra)! I seem to remember it took about 6 of us to lift these in place after dressing and positioning them. I often wonder if we might have been amongst some of the last people to install a stretch of traditional slate fencing in Cumbria. They are things of great beauty, love and care, I think.  They are dressed so they interlock and you can still see them (mostly around Ambleside and Hawkshead) but they are easily damaged by cars and uplifted by roots and so are gradually disintegrating and diminishing in number.

Made me think of the poet Norman Nicholson ....

Therefore hope
is a theological virtue
And a geological grace,
Felt in the why
And wherefore of a rose,
And when rocks solidify
And the watching sky
Knows the fire’s purpose
And the way the water flows’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.