Artminx

By Artminx

Loves and surprises

On the 28th of April 2013,  Fenner and I went to our seventh gig together. It was at The Castle in Manchester and was to see a band from Glasgow called Washington Irving. I think I had heard their song 'Holy Company' on 6Music and fallen for their electric folky ways. 

Later the following year I noticed they were set to play up in Oban, their home town and so always keen on an excuse for a road trip we went up to see them, which we blogged about here.

This year has been really exciting for them, heading over to New York to record music for their debut album, being invited on the BBC Quay Sessions program and now touring with a band from New Jersey 'Titus Andronicus'. Naturally we grabbed tickets to see them play Deaf, my favourite venue in Manchester (I had my fortieth birthday there earlier in the summer), though after investigating Titus I wasn't too keen to hang around for their set.

Washington Irving were, as always, brilliant. The depth in their music for me is what I love, that lovely deep electric folk, that builds up wonderfully and I wish I was halfway through a bottle of red and dancing in circles. Sadly I was neither drinking nor dancing. Next time.

I talked the others (Fenner, his daughter Hannah and our friend Max) to stay for at least one Titus song. The band is American punk/indie which really should be enough to make you wanna head away early, It wasn't looking positive though the venue was really busy and I suddenly got the feeling it was about to get interesting.

Which was an understatement. 

This band is amazing. Imagine tones of country and indie and punk and folk and blues and then throw in a bit of Chas & Dave, some shouty swearing and a lot of gesticulating and you have Titus Andronicus. The frontman, Patrick Stickles, is everything a band like this needs. I HAVE to see this band again. 

The evening came to a lovely end with a chat with two of the guys from Washington Irving, who were sweet and charming and so lovely to put up with me nattering on. Fingers crossed they play another gig in Oban for Christmas as the only thing wrong with this evening was their set was far too short for my liking.

S

Ps. The look on Fenner's face after the first Titus song will be etched in my memory forever. Pure joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.