Flowers, and then Dick Gaughan live!!

I bought a new camera yesterday to take with me on travels.  I think I might be using it even more than that.

I received a reasonable discount so took the plunge as it was for one day only.  I have checked a variety of other cameras with similar options but this seemed to be a very popular choice amongst reviewers. 

I charged the battery having opened the box this morning, read the basic manual and switched it on.  I made sure it was in fully automatic mode and went downstairs to take a picture of the Pelargonium Ardens, which has just come back into flower again for he third time this year.  I thought I could compare it with my other cameras' pictures of the same flowers.

I thought it might be a 'Flower Friday' challenge today, but when I went to upload the picture I found the site was down. It has only just returned, many hours later it would appear, according to all the other messages.

I am impressed with the very fine detail, not shot in macro mode, and the accuracy of the colours. (Check it in 'Large' for the best and sharpest view).  Now I have to learn how to control this rather intricate small machine, which I have a feeling I am going to love.

Postscript:
This evening Helena and I went to watch the wonderful Sottish musician Dick Gaughan play at Lansdown Hall in Stroud. I have wanted to see him play live for many years and wasn't disappointed even though Dick wasn't feeling too well.  Our friend Fred, an excellent local photographer, is a friend of Dick's and he got permission from Dick for me to take some pictures during the event.

Here is a great performance of one of my favourite songs by him, 'Both sides the Tweed', performed live with Emmylou Harris and others from the BBC's 'Transatlantic Sessions'.  He played it tonight.


... and here they are singing 'Wild Mountain Thyme'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.