light fantastic

Anniemay’s standing at the front window signalling up the street with a torch.

me; “what are you doing?”
her; “I’m saying ‘help I’m stuck inside all day and he’s in the way’”
me; ?
her; “don’t worry - I don’t know Morse Code to say all that.”
me; “I knew that.”

I was supposed to be in London today at a meeting of the British Lung Foundation, but it was cancelled late yesterday afternoon.  Too many people cancelled to say they couldn’t make it, apparently.

So I’m at a loose end; an unexpected loose end. 

Now that there’s just the two of again, we’re doing some major sorting out and decorating before Ma-in-Law comes for Christmas.  So we decide to spend the time with even more trips to the dump and the charity shops.  Anniemay finally decides that she no longer needs the books that she used for over 30 years teaching.  Dump or charity?  That’s a tricky one.

In the afternoon we go shopping for a floor lamp.  Anniemay sees one that she really likes in Habitat; I see one that I really like in Ikea.  This photo is the result - shade from the Habitat lamp, stand from the Ikea lamp.  I finish it off with a quick bit of faffing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.