About time

I've been bereft this week. My watch broke on Sunday afternoon, and since then I've been struggling to get anywhere on time. Mobile phones are a substitute for many things - alarm clock, book, mindless amusement when too tired to think of anything else, diary, walkman, etc. etc. - but they are not an adequate substitute for a wristwatch. For example, when I'm cycling up Leith Walk in the mornings, do I have time to stop if I see something interesting and I think could get a blip. A quick glance at the watch will tell me yes or no. If I had time to stop, get my phone out of my pannier and look at it I'd have time to stop and take a photo... So I have to plough on as quickly as I can and forego the photo opp.

The new one arrived yesterday afternoon, so when we got back last night I quickly broke open the packaging and was very pleased with what I saw. And on a quiet day at home catching up on various things, it offers an obvious blip. And I'm happy sitting here and occasionally glancing down at its lovely shiny face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.