Eye vote for Love

I have spent a lot of today watching the news and emerging developments in the aftermath of the atrocities in Paris.

I have also been conscious of the fact that in Beirut yesterday, a bomb caused multiple deaths.  That in Japan, at magnitude 7.0 earthquake occurred.  That a train derailed in Strasbourg today.  That a light aircraft has crashed today in Devon and killed 4.  I am sure that there are many other examples of pain, suffering and loss of life.

Mostly today, I am wondering what is happening on this wonderful planet of ours.  

I hope the perpetrators of what happened in Paris yesterday really did find that there is an afterlife and that, contrary to their belief, it was a place where they will experience the sheer weight of the torture, misery and grief that they caused yesterday, for all of eternity.

However, the scientist in me knows that in reality, they are simply dead and they will never, ever feel the suffering that they have caused others.

Hate breeds cowardice.  Hate and cowardice lead to mistrust.  In turn, victimisation, torture and death.

Love breeds strength and unity.  Love opens doors to strangers to keep them safe.  Love takes care of others.  Love is patient, tolerant, kind.

So, I vote for Love.

(yes, that really is my eye.  It is also a picture of a heart, that I then photographed, and adjusted with transparency, so that it could sit in my pupil.  It's taken over an hour to capture and finalise.  I wanted to convey something.  Not sure if I achieved that goal)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.