Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Innocence

I have no words for what happened in Paris last night, or in Beruit a few days ago, or in Syria daily. Thankfully, as yet my children are untouched by the news. Our day today was lovely. Will's violin teacher was very pleased with his progress. The children played together all morning with no issues at all. We spent the afternoon painting Christmas tree decorations, as has become a family tradition and followed that with baby 'cinos. They had a joint bedtime story and Carys watched SCD before bed.

I am so thankful for the normality of the day, that we had today when so many others didn't. Tomorrow I will have to break that innocence that they have and try to explain why humans choose to kill other humans. How can I explain that to an eight and a six year old when I can't comprehend it myself? But I must as I know it will be spoken about at school and it should come from me first. I don't blame Carys for losing herself in the other world's she finds in her books, mostly they are better places than this world. I only hope my two beautiful children will help make the world a better place through their love, tolerance and gentleness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.