At Last

By 8

GRUTH

Part of my background reading for edan's project about St Mary the Virgin church and its environs. Came across a book waiting quietly for me on the shelf at Barter Books in Alnwick... one of my top ten places to visit in the UK btw.
The book starts off as you would expect by asking what is a Green Lane. Belsey gives various definitions offered by a variety of experts... then sums them up with her own - which I rather like, giving it the acronym, GRUTH: a green route used throughout history.
On our increasingly 'used' earth's crust... there are fewer and fewer Gruths... and those that remain are under increasing pressure to be swept under this carpet of 21stC living.
Goldsworthy's quote in the frontispiece of Belsey's book offers a taunt... a carrot to those like myself who are only just discovering this fascinating subject.
How it will tie in to the project? In what ways will it make itself manifest?
I have no idea.
That's the exciting thing about art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.