Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A day hiking in the South Carolina mountains

"The mountains are calling and I must go!"  I think John Muir said this and it certainly applies to me!   I head to the mountains every chance I get.  Can it get any more quieter than the mountains..the only sounds are what Nature makes..the crunch of leaves as we walk, the wind rustling the trees, a bird chirping, water burbling and gurgling.  My kind of place.

I belong to a ladies hiking group which had its monthly hike Saturday.  I just got home from the mountains in Colorado in time to visit the mountains in South Carolina.

The weather was perfect for the 5 mile hike to Lower Whitewater Falls which is located at the North and South Carolina state line.  We have hikers of all capabilities so most of our hikes are only 2-3 miles in and then back out.  

In this photo, you can see the waterfall as the white slash on the left.  We did not walk from this point but drove around to the Foothills Trail to hike.   We had a great day of fellowship and being out in Nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.