Now You See It...

...now you don't! Spent a couple of hours this morning at the Sweetwater Wetlands Park here in Gainesville, FL. While crossing a small bridge I was fortunate to spot this immature Black-crowned Night-Heron. I almost missed her because she blended in so well with her surroundings. I stood above her on the bridge for maybe 10 minutes or so then walked on. On my way back I stood and watched her again for another 20 minutes or so and finally watched her catch a small fish. Night Herons are very, very patient hunters. They will stand in one spot, for what seems to me an eternity, waiting for just the right delicacy to swim by. Most other wading birds will move around a bit to startle their prey into movement. Here's what a mature Black-crowned Night Heron looks like.

I attended a presentation last week by Mac Stone, a Conservationist/Photographer who uses the Image to tell the Story. I tend to shoot subjects 'up-close and personal' but he widens the shot which helps to convey the 'back story' of his 'mission'. I was inspired on several levels and I had all of that in mind when I took this shot and then as I cropped it to share with you. 'Extra' photo...Limpkin with a freshly caught apple snail...Yum!
Wishing you all a very Safe and Peaceful week. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.