matipac

By matipac

Yellow peril

I attempted the Watford Joggers Autumn Challenge 10k today. It was a beautiful, but very hilly, cross country route though woodland. Unfortunately my legs felt like lead right from the start and by halfway I was feeling very achey, nauseous and light headed. I'd been struggling on Thursday and Friday with a reaction to last weekend's Yellow Fever jab, and it has clearly not finished with me yet. A St John's Ambulance man was positioned at the end of this lengthy uphill stretch, which persuaded me to stop rather than push on and risk falling really ill somewhere much less accessible. By the time he had driven me back to the start/finish area I was feeling a lot better. On reflection I think it was a sensible decision, but disappointing as I feel I have been running well lately and was looking forward to this cross country challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.