On Some Days

By V1k1

Hey Teacher Leave Them Kids Alone.

I really do try to leave them alone to develop according to their own personalities and talents.  I want them to be individuals and not uniform bricks in the wall of society.  Education has become more standardized than when I started in the teaching game and thought control is everywhere for both students and teachers. This is Dakota and Sophie working on their crayon drawings about the rock pools.  Their class is off to the beach next week to study what lives in the rock pools.  Sophie was wearing a sweat shirt with a picture of the Eiffel Tower and the word Paris on it.  I didn't ask if there was reason for her wearing it. I would like her to be innocent for a while longer.  She is only 8 but I expect I'm too late with that wish.  Thank you GoranZebuhr for another Pink Floyd song.

We don't need no education
We don't need no thought control
No dark sarcasm in the classroom
Teachers leave them kids alone
Hey teacher leave us kids alone
All in all you're just another brick in the wall

Another song that came to mind is Bob Dylan's Forever Young

. . .may you build a ladder to the stars
     may you stay forever young . . .
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.