ENTASIS

By ENTASIS

Scottish Summer Saviors

Today has been what feels like the one millionth day of rain and grey drizzle up here in the not so "Silver Town". If, like me, the thought of wrapping up in a hooded anorak and boots armed with a sturdy umbrella every morning before stepping out the front door -in the middle of JUNE- is too much too bear, then try out some of my Scottish Summer survival tactics.

To avoid getting SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder), which believe me in Scotland is a very real possibility, I layer lighter, less bulky items of clothing that still keep me dry but feel more seasonally appropriate than say an anorak or duffel coat. The classic trench coat is great for rainy summer days. I get great millage from this GAP version. It keeps me well sheltered in the rain and should the weather improve (unlikely, I know) it's equally appropriate for a sunny day. Plus, a trench coat will never fall out of fashion. Pair with a backcombed crown hairdo a la Holly Golightly for uber stylish rainy day chic.

My black felt Barbour hat is a newer addition to my wardrobe and has already been well worn. It adds a twist to any outfit and it's practical in both sun and rain whilst leaving hands free of an umbrella for shopping bags!

Black Tights are a summer wardrobe staple in Scotland. Unfortunately bare legs are still an unrealistic option this far north, but black tights mean that my summer skirts and shorts can still get an outing. And if I do get caught in the rain, they dry much faster than trousers- there's nothing worse than having damp trousers all day!

These patent penny loafers (my work shoes from Jones Bootmaker) have also proven to be rather handy in the current weather. The patent coating means the water doesn't penetrate the leather so easily and the high cut front means more of my foot is covered, but they're still light enough to wear with skirts, dresses etc.

Finally Bronzer! I was a bit scared by this this at first as it can look a bit...dare I say it, tacky. But this one from Boots No.17 was only £5.99 (the brush was free) and looks great! Very subtle and just the right colour:shimmer ratio.

With this survival kit at the ready who needs a holiday in the Seychelles?...Well me actually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.