Icons

I rather like buddhist iconography.  Samye Ling is knee deep in it, as some of you will know.  I was last here sometime in the early seventies, its hippy era.  I remember it as only one building, a rambling old house, cold, dark, damp with bare wires poking out of the walls and missing floorboards underfoot.  My how it has grown!   

A late cancellation allowed me to attend this course.  Fascinating stuff - I'd love to try and share some of what I learned about myself and others, about people, our human condition.  I'm not sure I can articulate any of it yet, it was 80+% physical, full on and intense.   Maybe some of it will tumble out here in the coming days.

Today is the anniversary of my mother's death.  Twenty-four years on I see how many of her energetic patterns I carry still in my body.  How I still try to run from them.  How our conditioned physiological responses determine our every perception, our emotional reactions, our response to pressure, our capacity to negotiate conflict and to sustain relationships.  All before our tiny minds and good intentions have any say in the matter. 'Tiny mind' is a term of endearment for me.  

Meanwhile Paris was burning, again.  More thoughts on that tomorrow.  Tiny mind is very slow.  The body's response instantaneous, before the eye can even blink.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.