The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

I Thought That They Thought......Busted

I entered this conference room at 9 am for a "5 hour meeting". Twelve hours (and two awful meals) later after being stuck within these windowless four walls, I just arrived home.

I had planned to leave this meeting well in time to watch the Italy v. Germany match. But, thick heads prevailed and semi-cerebral bullshit flowed endlessly. At mid-day, I was having an anxiety attack that I may miss the match. But a snagged wireless feed and my wife's Xfinity account brought the game to my screen.

People were so focused on the matters at hand that I was completely sure that they thought I was working on one of my financial models. I truly thought that they thought that I was working. But, then, the Italians prevailed in their aggressive attack and Bad Boy Balotelli nailed one of the finest shots I have seen and I blurted out one of my patented "Yahoos". Busted I was.

Immediately, all eyes were upon me and I was like a child who passed gas in class. At that point, my client -- a second generation Italian - turned to me and asked me calmly..."Did we score?" I said yes. He smiled and said...."Keep me posted, I figured you were watching the game."

He is now and ever shall be my favorite client.

This iPhone photo leaves much to be desired but this was the highlight of my day. I did not touch a real camera today but I still wanted to share this moment with you. I thought about doing a pretty emergency blip but it would have meant nothing to me and I want to go now up to my bed and watch, again, the highlights of my Boys in Blue and to dream of a victory over Spain. Please have a great Friday and thank you for your kind comments on my emergency blip of yesterday. Emergency blips seem to be a theme for me as of late but what can one do when their schedule is out of control?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.