The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Seahorses

My daughter is living back home after graduating from college. Today, we sat outside and ate lunch together. Well, she ate and I watched, as I had eaten lunch earlier. It was a beautiful day, and we were playing with various photo apps on our iPhones.

If you have ever seen the movie Napoleon Dynamite, you may recall the photography scene with Uncle Rico and Deb. She tells him to, "Think about little seahorses," or something to that effect. Ever since that movie came out, that scene has become a joke in our family.

Having a sense of humor is critical for survival in this home. With 4 very creative people living under one roof, it can get a bit chaotic. Someone is always "creating," and personal space is at a premium.

Video editing, vocalizing, songwriting, guitar and piano playing, and me, begging for quiet so I can write, or actually hear video footage that I am screening. This is not a typical household.

Still, I cherish the moments I have with my daughters, as they are quickly growing up and will soon have careers that take them to far off places. I remember the 18 months that I spent home after college with fond memories. Life was never the same after I left the safety and loving warmth of my mother's home.

I love this photo because my daughter is being silly and is happy.

Life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.