stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Memorial Tower

While packing last night I realised that I'd left my sunnies in the overhead store in the car (which is kinda ironic since I'd been giving Gitama such a hard time about misplacing hers while we were travelling) but thanks to her sterling efforts with Avis (me having to rush in to check in my baggage since I'd totally messed up in my timings for the shuttle bus) all was good by the time we said our final farewells at Hobart International. Thanks so much for your company over the last couple of weeks G. It's been a blast, full of laughs (too many stories) and tears (tulips anyone?), a wee bit anger and frustration (you know... the car ) ;-) but most certainly the best of times. I'm so glad you enjoyed Tassy and hope you, erm... recover from the brutal treatment your body was put through in the name of photography! :-) I do hope you get to go back and I look forward to seeing more shots from there from you in the not too distant future (I'm guessing sometime in September whichever year you go)!!! :-))

The flight to Melbourne was a bit more eventful than normal. I'd really felt a bit off the night before. Just overtired I guess after the marathon drive and I didn't feel like anything to eat before bed. Felt fine the next morning, that is until I was offered a snack on the flight. I was about halfway through the cake when I felt my stomach turn. Ugh! To avoid the embarrassment of retrieving the upchuck bag from the seat in front of me I went and sat in the toilet for a few minutes with my head between my legs and I was fine after that. The landing in Melbourne was... bouncy! We hit and skipped along the runway (just the once) much to the screaming delight of the group of school kids that were aboard. Looking out the window it looked like there may have been a bit of a crosswind as the pilot was crabbing a little on approach. All good though and once I made my way down to he baggage claim I didn't have long to wait as my case came trundling out third. Result! I'm getting out of here in record time. Then I saw the queue at the Avis counter. Then I joined the queue at the Avis counter. Then I waited in the unmoving queue at the Avis counter for a good half hour while the only person at the desk struggled with a customer. Something to do with needing and International drivers license. Anyway we were eventually guided across to another office at the car park where two people were working the counter with a large queue now supplemented by the queue from the terminal. Noooo... It was almost two hours (my car was being washed) before I finally got into the car and was able to leave the airport. Ugh!

I've been so lucky this trip with people opening their homes to me after only brief meetings on my last visit and this continues on this leg of my tour in Victoria as MrRosewarne, MsMun and the kids welcomed me into theirs. It's amazing how a distant connection made online halfway across the world can resolve itself in the real world. Sometimes it sticks and sometimes not but I've been ever so lucky in those that have.

I had a few hours on my hands before everyone got home so following a quick stop off at Subway for a sarny (my appetite having returned with a vengeance) I pottered about in the car and eventually found myself out at the Kangaroo Ground memorial Tower. The 12m tower was opened in 1926 to commemorate the fallen of the Great War on the highest point for miles around the area, Garden Hill. As such it has served a dual purpose and in 1974 a fire spotter box was added to the top. The "hot box" as it was known was replaced in 2009 with an updated installation and is manned throughout the summer months. The views from the tower (my extra is of Mount Dandenong and surrounds on a gorgeous Victorian day) are spectacular and it's easy to see why this spot is so important. I liked this view of the tower peeking through the surrounding trees in the sunlight though.

Perfect for a mono conversion! ;-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.