X Sighted

By q8rdave

Malbec

Post dinner "dessert" - cashews, berries (tonight watermelon is a berry, OK!) and Greek figs (I feel a need to help their economy one fig at a time) with a Malbec ("I don't always drink wine, but when I do it is always Malbec - well, usually." Says the most interesting man in my house at the moment.) This is from WSJ so if nothing else it was discounted. It is "crafted for them by a 'boutique' (really? Like those small hotels decorated in themes such as "Nordic Romance" or "Bollywood in the 70s" or "Spank Me Hard and Call Me Shirley" (the last one is not exactly a hotel.)) vineyard in the Mendoza region (a region where it seems you can't swing a dead gaucho without hitting a wine producer) of Argentina - Bodegas Proemio. Empezar is an infinitive of a Spanish verb meaning "to begin." I am not sure the name inspires confidence. Would suggest a name that means "have been doing this for many years so we know what we are doing." But WSJ assures me it will be a crowd pleaser. My crowd of one is enjoying it. Nicely astringent, big red fruit, OK with cashews and hasn't taunted the Greek figs for not being able to budget. (I wanted cheese but only had a very hard piece of Reggiano that no wine would have cut.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.