Craster kippers

Helena has a very busy and complicated work schedule today, so I offered to prepare a breakfast of Craster kippers for us both. I don't usually eat hot food in the morning, but I am glad I did today. The kippers were so tasty, the smoked flavours so refined.

When Helena came into the kitchen and found me using my patented method of preparing the fish, by soaking them in boiling water for five minutes, in a big glass flower vase, she was a little bemused. But I think the results proved the method worked.

Just before I served them up, she suggested they might be a good blip. So I rushed upstairs to get a camera and snapped away for a minute in the rather dark kitchen, as although the rain had stopped falling, the sky was still very grey and overcast.

While we ate the kippers together, with some lovely brown toast, delicious organic marmalade and some coffee, we watched an array of birds feeding on the various food Helena offers them, and I was particularly pleased to see two nuthatches together, probably now a pair and hopefully breeding. The woodpecker was bashing his head and beak against the wooden pole, in exemplary fashion, whilst a host of tits, chaffinches, robins and blackbirds joined in the scramble for food.

I'm off to Dorset tomorrow, and then Somerset, on Monday, so I'm not sure I will be able to blip until I return. Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.