A Pioneer

A friend asked me to go blipping at the oldest cemetery in Seattle today, Lake View Cemetery. I had never been there and I love shooting in cemeteries. Oddly enough, it didn't occur to me until I was there that this would be my first time in a cemetery since my father's funeral. But, I was ok.

Many, very interesting, very old graves but the simplicity of this one caught my eye. Sometimes the worst thing about blip is that you can only choose one (this is also the best thing about blip) so I didn't get to show you this very interesting headstone or this fall leaf shot.

This cemetery is where Bruce and Brandon Lee are buried and their graves are a bit of a tourist attraction. I stopped by, they are very modern; but there was an inscription that really spoke to me so I will share it with you all here:

"Because we don't know when we will die, we get to think of life as an inexhaustible well. Yet everything happens a certain number of times, and a very small number, really. How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood, some afternoon that's so deeply a part of your being that you can't even conceive of your life without it? Perhaps four or five times more. Perhaps not even that. How many more times will you watch the full moon rise? Perhaps twenty. And yet it all seems limitless."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.