Return to the North

By Viking

The Real 'Mac

Fleetwood Mac were one of those bands I discovered at a pivotal moment in my younger life and I have played their material at various key points since. I was lucky enough to see them about 12-15 years ago at the Newcastle Arena and they were pretty awesome - great atmosphere, great gig BUT they didn't have Chrstine McVie playing with them. 
As much as I like Stevie Nicks and her music it was always Christine McVie's songs that drew me to the band.

So when i heard that she was back in the band and they were coming to NZ of course I had to get tickets. last night I saw the amazing woman with the voice of an angel for the first time live. And boy did I enjoy it.

Obviously no new material so it was greatest hits all the way - one after the other.

Only thing I will say - my tickets gave me a great view of the stage but I was surrounded by miserable numpties who wouldn't get up and dance and so had to sit politely and clap and wiggle in my seat. Next time I am paying the extra and sitting in the best seats, because even though security tried to stop them it was fighting a losing battle against a few thousand!

Best bit of the night - when Christine McVie finished the gig with one of my all time favourite songs - Songbird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.