Ikimasho!

By Hayls

What an interesting day

Lunch at Cafe Rogano - superb!

On to Gartnavel Hospital with a pal from work for an afternoon of jazz and music therapy with an excellent organisation called Common Wheel.

I confess I nearly ran screaming within the first five minutes on witnessing someone being asked to say their name and then use their body to express how they were feeling. The audience were then asked to copy the person's movements - aghhhhhhhhhhhh, not my cup of tea AT ALL! Fortunately this activity only lasted a couple of mins and then we were on to the next activity.

Weirdly I didn't find the singing and bongo playing anywhere near as mortifying as the bodily expressions of mood! Pal and I joined in with the singing, well, she sang, I kinda wailed a bit. We both tried battering out a bit of a tune with our drums and then were treated to some music from a couple of guys who really know what they're doing - Helle Lund from Denmark and Raymond MacDonald from Scotland (the guys in the blip). They were amazing, the connection between them was fascinating to watch. They just seemed to be able to read each other like a book and sounded incredible together.

I've never really got jazz but today brought me a few steps closer to understanding it - My name is Hayls and (bit of jumping and booty shaking) I'm feeling it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.