Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Oh, no, I couldn't possibly eat another bite...

So says Mimsy after having stuffed her little chipmunk cheek pouches FULL of peanut halves! The little scamp. I was able to take this shot from only about 5 feet away, the closest she's let me get (other than when she tried to scamper across my bare feet recently!)

This came on the heels of her watching while Jezebel the Blue Jay swooped in and ate the first serving of peanuts, snatching right out from Mimsy's little spot under the hostas. I didn't begrudge the jay, though - poor things are so hot right now that they sit with their beaks open, as if trying to cool down. It is stinky-hot here right now - up in the 90's with comparable humidity. Yuck. Most of the birds have taken to the trees in an effort to stay cool, with the exception of the hummers. Nothing deters the hummers from their nectar. I was going to blip a hummer today and had several good choices, before Mimsy stole the show. If you'd care to have a look, here are the contenders...

Mrs. RTH having a morning drink - I liked this one because her tail was so perfectly fanned out

On the approach, landing gear engaged - and you can also see the tip of her tongue out and ready.

We are going to be up and out early tomorrow to head for OR, where it looks to be much cooler (yay!) Have much to do this afternoon - including leaving detailed instructions for the house sitter to fill the h-bird feeders, check for 'coon damage, feed cats, refill bird bath, etc. The Bear-Proof Suet Feeder is hung from the upstairs bedroom window where the downies and chickadees have already found it. I've put a few window-mounted seed feeders up high, too. So, everyone should be well fed.

Hoping you all have a great Friday and weekend. I'll be sporatic on comments for the next week while we are away, but will check in when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.