The Way I See Things

By JDO

Cymbidium orchids

I swung by Stratford Garden Centre the other day to see if they had any poinsettias (which they did), but when I saw these Cymbidium orchids I couldn't resist buying them too. I have quite an emotional response to them, because they were among the flowers I chose for my wedding bouquet; and though that was over a quarter of a century ago I'm reminded of it on a daily basis, because rather than lobbing the bouquet in the direction of the female guests I had it pressed and dried after the wedding, and some of the flowers mounted as a picture.

Most of my orchids thrive on being left alone on north-facing windowsills, but these ones are slightly fussier - so I was pleased to find this page on the RHS web site, which gives lots of advice on how to care for them. If I manage to keep the plant alive and flowering (or plants, because given the colour variation between the left and right sides there must surely be two specimens in this pot), I daresay that it will make another appearance or three on future Fridays!

As ever, thanks to BikerBear for Flower Friday - my heart goes out to Anni today, as she is mourning the loss of her gorgeous northern inuit, Shadow Dancer. The other Flower Friday entries this week are here.

I'll be off out very shortly to the penultimate rehearsal for Campden Festival Chorus' Mozart concert tomorrow evening - I've been humming along to my rehearsal CD of the Mass in C while writing this, and I need to go through my music now and check that everything is properly marked up. I'll try to get round some journals later this evening, and some more tomorrow.

I hope you all have a restful weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.