North Foreland

I didn't plan to go to Thanet when I left the house. I needed some shopping and to get out having spent much of yesterday sleeping through a cold. I jumped in the car and started out for Oare and a little light birdwatching before stocking up for the weekend. However, I became drawn in by a programme on the wireless and I missed the motorway junction so I stayed on the M2 and then the Thanet Way until I was on the Isle of Thanet. The light was lovely and it was a real joy getting out and about even though I didn't walk too far because I'm still snuffling and coughing.

North Foreland was built to warn sailors about the Goodwin Sands. It has a partner, South Foreland, which is on the white cliffs outside Dover. Both are automated now and the lighthouse keepers' cottages are made available as holiday lets by Trinty House (North Foreland) and the National Trust (South Foreland). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.