Water Festival

I no longer get the generous Cambodia public holidays but that doesn't stop a post-work weekend getaway to one of my old favourite haunts. People clear out of Phnom Penh before Water Festival, one of the largest celebrations, next week. The government has cancelled the boat races and celebrations this year citing reasons that no one really believes. But if this means fewer people from the provinces flock into the city it will avoid a repeat of the huge crush of 5 years ago that killed hundreds during this festival.

Gave the office cleaner Sreyoun some money in lieu of attending the 100 days mourning service for her baby daughter who died in the summer. She would expect her colleagues to do that instead of travelling to the provinces.

Ran into 'Jame' Bond, a tuk tuk driver who previously claimed to be a pimp who could help me prostitute myself out to rich Khmer women. He reminded me of the offer, which I said I was still considering. He also said that while we 'are not best friends' he hopes I will remain safe in Europe. I made some political statement about war and terrorism that was lost in translation, but assured him that small town Cambridgeshire was safe enough.

En route to Kampot the van came across a young woman injured in a motorbike accident who came in the van to the provincial hospital. Surprising to be around a Khmer person crying out in pain as they are usually so uncomplaining and stoic. The hospital looked woefully inadequate to be dealing with patients.

Life in Cambodia continues to lurch from the tragic to the comical. Mostly tragic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.