Shadows!

It's November the 19th. Whilst we've been hearing about the rain and flooding at home, Steve and I have been enjoying the sun. Look at the crisp shadows on the ground; I don't think there are any of those in Cumbria at the moment.

This morning we sat at this little coffee shop which we adopted on our first morning here. Sat at, not in: we were outside, basking in the sun, dressed in t-shirts. Earlier this week, Steve actually wore shorts, which I hadn't even though to pack, while I felt uncomfortably warm in my jeans. 

Over a chocolate croissant I wondered why early humans migrated any further north than Spain: it's blissful here. I'll definitely come back, not least bearing in mind that the Minx's flights and accommodation in total cost less than what it costs me to make a return trip to Heathrow from the Lake District. Something serious skewed with the world when that's the case.

In the early afternoon, we packed reluctantly and took a taxi out to the airport where we met the Minx in front of the terminal, as we all enjoyed the sunshine one last time (for now). The Minx didn't have any bags to check in, so by the time we caught up with her near the gates, she'd bought us each a beer and we sat looking out over the sun-washed planes and runways. 

Fast forward three hours, then, and we were in our just landed plane back at Liverpool. Steve and I were right at the front and as the stewardess opened the door we were repaid for our smugness regarding our extra legroom by gust upon gust of wind and cold rain. As Steve said, if we didn't have families, the sensible thing to do would be to stay on the plane and go back to Barcelona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.