Buttonhole/thinking aloud (1)

Buttonhole Cabbage.  Exactly the same as the floral variety. Sold now by Waitrose as a vegetable.  Big brother of these these.    Now made into Stamppot - mmmm winter food as the temperature begins to drop.
                      -----------------------------------------------------------------------
This post is the beginning of an open-ended ramble that might go on for weeks.  Thinking aloud in intelligent company helps me make sense of the world.  

A comments’ exchange on @Arachne’s journal got me thinking.  The original context was a change in her work situation, hop over to her journal if you want more detail.

This was our conversation: 

Me: I have the theory that nothing ends well, having left a trail of such metaphors in my life.  I'm glad you escaped this gloom.

 Arachne: I am a slow thinker and have been thinking about this rather alarming theory.  Probably by definition I've never had a good end to a relationship but of my eight jobs that have lasted over a year (not this one, obviously) two have ended well, one badly and the rest mixed. Mixed usually means circumstances bad but some colleagues were great. The person who instigated the one really bad one is now, after several months of not talking, a very good friend.  It sounds like you've had quite a bit of bad luck.]

I kept meaning to get back to this conversation to clarify that what I meant was that endings involve people.  Therefore it’s always about relationships - with varying degrees of intimacy/significance for the people involved.

Endings are usually painful to some extent for at least one party.  In that one side calls a halt, creating a disruption in the relationship at a particular time.  It seems to me to be rare for both sides to reach the same conclusion at the same moment, and even if they do it’s rarely entirely amicable.  Even if the parties agree to part there is usually some degree of disappointment and hurt, often resentment and judgement on one or both sides.  Rarely do we think entirely well of the people we have left or those who leave us.  Hard as we may try.  I’m not just thinking of personal or romantic relationships.  This happens whenever we are disappointed or dissatisfied in a job or as a customer, in fact in all sorts of situations.  I began to ponder on the question of ‘luck’...

I feel this ramble will run and run for me, input welcome and I’ll continue to think aloud on this theme as and when.

#am writing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.