1920s Luton meets 1950s Luton

Can you tell which elements of the picture come from which period? Tip, it's not a clean cut down the middle of the image.

I love looking at old pictures of my home town and even better is when I have 2 pictures of the same scene taken decades apart. Usually to create a composite, I use an old picture and it's modern day equivalent but for a change I thought I would combine two old pictures of the same scene some 25 - 30 years apart. If nothing else, the transport in this picture highlights the changes.

I actually felt like I had traveled back in time today. I had to go into town to pick up my new glasses (of the reading not drinking variety) and stuck for somewhere to get a cup of tea/coffe, Diana and I decided to try Robby's tea shop in the Arndale, one of the few establishments that has been there ever since the Arndale opened in 1972. For any business to have survived this long is admirable, and let's give credit where credit is due, but I still can't fathom out how. The decor, the menu and the staff all appear to be stuck in 1972, and it's not a cute retro feel, it's almost depressing, like finding yourself living on Coronation Street in the 1970s. Gives me the willies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.